Home > Iran > Ahmadinejad, that great champion of individual freedoms

Ahmadinejad, that great champion of individual freedoms

I was going to post some thoughts on the ever fascinating subject of headscarves when I remembered the Thomas Erdbrink article of a few weeks ago.

I’m sure this journalist did not set out to write a humorous piece but the fact is I hadn’t laughed out this loud in a long time. I’ll admit to feeling quite remorseful, given the plight of my Iranian sisters, but looking at the general picture from several thousands of miles, it is hard not to see the discussion in Tehran as grotesque and the reasoning behind dress code and restrictions as over-the-top hilarious.
Really, leading clerics stating that “women who cover themselves improperly are inviting men to abuse them,” and “head scarves that reveal too much hair pose a serious threat to Iran’s core values,” and “women roam[ing] the streets of Western metropolises ‘practically naked,’” and finally, “Blood should be shed to solve this issue and eradicate this problem from the society,” is frightening in its whackiness but side-splittingly funny too.
And most surrealistic of all, the serious accusation from the more conservative clerics that Iran’s weird President and his men are “advocating more personal freedoms to widen their popular base.” Ahmadinejad, champion of liberal values? I’d say that now we’ve seen it all, except there are more surprises in Iran than layers in a Russian doll.

Categories: Iran Tags: , , , ,
  1. MB
    September 15, 2011 at 12:27 am

    I think only a native Iranian like yourself could laugh about Thomas Erdbrink’s article. This stuff scares me when I read it, even though it is absurd. It’s so absurd that it’s frightening that it happens at all. Whippings? The violated women are the ones at fault? I mean it’s all so horrible. BUT I am glad that you can laugh at the absurdity of the politics vs. clerics. Actually, it is sort of funny.

    Like

  2. September 18, 2011 at 4:36 pm

    TO BE ABLE TO LAUGH AT SUCH VIOLENCE IS NOT PART OF MY MAKEUP;I WOULD BE MORE INCLINED TO CRY THAN LAUGH.WHAT I FIND SO SHOCKING IS THE FEAR OF ISLAM WHICH SUCH RANTING,RAVING AND ACTIONS PROMOTE. I SHOULD IMAGINE THAT THE GOOD LORD GOD WILL BE ANGRY WITH THOSE WHO MAKE PEOPLE FEAR ISLAM AND THEY WOULD DO WELL TO THINK THAT THEY COULD BURN BURN IN HELL FOR THEIR WORDS AND ACTIONS.

    Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

